Kyle Oswalt


Aloha I’m Kyle Oswalt and I am currently 23 years old, and a Brazilian Jiujitsu Brown belt under professor Jason Vigil of Island Jiujitsu Academy. I was born in Kentucky, but grew up in a few different places of the U.S because my dad was in the military at the time. When I was in fifth grade we officially moved to Honolulu, Hawaii, where I have been now ever since.

Growing up I was always a wild, active, and adventurous kid. After moving to Hawaii I got really into surfing, which is what I was doing for a long time before training Jiujitsu. I would surf everyday at Kaiser bowls with my friends, and I was even on my surf team at Kaimuki high school. It wasn’t until I was 18 that Jiujitsu came into my life; at a time that I really needed it.

Right when I hit 18 my parents suddenly decided to move back to the mainland at a time that I wasn’t expecting, or ready for. I only had one part-time job at the time, so not a lot of money saved, but I didn’t want to go with them. I wanted to stay here in Hawaii. So when they left, I didn’t have much of anything, just my car and my clothes. I lived in my car for about 4 months, couch surfed for a bit at friends houses, and it was a little while after that, that I had heard about Jiujitsu.

I was surfing one day at kaiser bowls, when my one friend (who was a blue belt at the time) told me I should come in and train. So we paddled in, and he took me to my very first class which was located just five minutes away from the surf spot at the Ilikai hotel. I hopped on the mat, got tapped out a bunch, and fell in love with the art. Ever since then I have been hooked, and 5 years later I am a brown belt, and haven’t stopped since that first day.

I have been working two steady jobs doing landscaping during the day, and working a restaurant at night. I also help coach every kids and youth classes at IJJ, and I teach my own adults class on Saturdays. I never thought I would be training Jiujitsu, let alone teaching it, but I really love and enjoy it! Over the years I have become an active competitor, and have grown my passion for Jiujitsu which has led me to awesome opportunities like meeting Aubrey and Dewey from Kekoa Collective. I hope to one day own my own academy and win a few world titles. OSS and aloha.

 

LEARN A LITTLE MORE ABOUT KYLE 

What is your current state of mind? 

MUSHIN The term is shortened from mushin no shin, a Zen expression meaning the mind without mind and is also referred to as the state of "no-mindness". That is, a mind not fixed or occupied by thought or emotion and thus open to everything.

My Addictions are:

Jiujitsu, fishing, hiking.

Biggest accomplishment in life:

The biggest accomplishment in my life so far would be receiving my brown belt.

Words that most describe you: 

Strong willed, out going, adventurous

If you could have a super power, what would that be:

Invincibility

What is it that you want to do when you grow up? 

Jiujitsu coach at the academy

**Tell us one thing we don’t know about you but we should: 

Whenever I get something new I always spend 20-30 min intricately observing every detail.

If you could change one thing about the world, what would it be and why? 

I would take out pollution, because it’s almost like we’re a virus killing the earth. 

What is your idea of perfect happiness? 

My idea of perfect happiness is waking up early catching a fish and training jiujitsu.

What is your greatest fear? 

Losing a loved one.

Which living person do you most admire? 

Historical figure

Rickson Gracie

What do you like most about yourself? 

I like that if I put my mind to it I will achieve it.

What is the trait you most DISLIKE in yourself? 

I would change my teeth. They all buss.

What is your greatest extravagance? 

Fishing gear like reels and lures

What is your greatest regret? 

Not have started jiujitsu younger.

If you could change one thing about yourself, what would it be? 

I would change my teeth

If you were to die and come back as another person or thing, what do you think it would be? 

My brother

What is your most treasured possessions? 

My most treasured possession is my family, girlfriend, and friends. Also my kimono and belt.

Where would you like to live if you could live anywhere in the world? 

I would want to live right where I’m at ,but in a nice house up in the mountains.

What is your ideal occupation? 

My ideal occupation would be jiujitsu instructor

Who are your heroes in real life? 

Hero’s are my mom, my coach , and my girlfriend

What is your life motto? 

Learn as if you would live forever, live as if you would die tomorrow.

List 3 things you cannot live without? 

Jiujitsu; Fishing; Ocean, my girlfriend

What is your legacy? 

To never be afraid of what live has to offer, always risk it. You never know if you never go!

What’s the greatest piece of advice you’ve ever received? 

When I was surfing my friend advised me to try Jiu-jitsu

Final thoughts:

I want to thank my family and friends for always supporting me and being there for me. Without you guys I wouldn’t be who I am. My girlfriend Ocean for being my better half, and always making sure I’m on the right path. All my teammates and coaches at Island Jiu-jitsu especially my professor Jason Vigil.

Aloha & mahalo nui